Kids’ Music “Superhero” Laurie Berkner is BACK! First Album of All-New Berkner Songs in Eight Years!

Laurie Berkner2

Kids’ Music “Superhero” Laurie Berkner is BACK! First Album of All-New Berkner Songs in Eight Years!


For those who don’t know Laurie, she is a former preschool music teacher who became an indie rocker extraordinaire overnight.  She began selling her music over ten years ago on her own independent label, Two Tomatoes Records.  Her songs are catchy, fun and her musical talent backs up her love of making music for children. She has a crystal clear voice and her songs are perfect for preschoolers and young children.  We have seen her skyrocket in fame when she started to appear in Nick Jr. videos and is now featured regularly on Sprout in a feature called ‘Sing It Laurie’.

While Laurie has been putting out albums over the last eight years, like the adorable “Love”, Laurie Berkner’s Favorite Classic Kid’s Songs, The Ultimate Laurie Berkner Band Collection, Lullabies, and A Laurie Berkner Christmas; “Superhero” is different because this album is jam-packed with 21 freshly composed Laurie Berkner originals plus two “bonus” tracks.  Oh yeah!  It’s an album that fans, like our family, has been waiting for – an all Laurie album and it is fantastic.  Laurie has a special knack for writing an entire range of playful and fun songs from a quiet a capella to a full band anthem.  It’s Laurie Berkner being totally Laurie Berkner and that is what keeps us coming back for more of her albums.

Says Laurie Berkner, “I wrote Superhero thinking about many things that I found fun as a kid, and I’m so thrilled to have such wonderful guests to share that fun, including superstar crown prince of reggae, Ziggy Marley, super musical yogini Kira Willey, and our own superbassman, Brady Rymer, who gets a special slot up front in addition to his regular vocal and instrumental contributions as a member of The Laurie Berkner Band“.

Superhero is filled with many of our favorite musical styles from rock, pop, reggae to even Latin flavor – and even more important may be the underlyning theme that we can all be superheroes by being the best person we can be.  It’s about feeling empowered to be yourself whether you are being silly, trying to be positive, understanding your own self-worth, and my favorite songs are just about the topic of love.  There is so much music in me and my family, and to hear it playing back to us on such beautiful tracks in real time is something very special.  Some of our favorite songs on the album were some very special collaborations with artists we already know and love.  I was enamored with “My My Marisol” which features Ziggy Marley, the always lovely Kira Willey is featured on the song “Swing Me”, and Brady Rymer brought the fun in the song “Opelika Alabama“.  Brooke was especially taken by the song “Elephant In There” which is a silly song that is sung by Laurie and her daughter, Lucy Mueller.  How special!

Laurie explains, “To me, Superhero is about self-empowerment — being our best selves and discovering the superhero in all of us.”

I give this album a BIG YES and I hope you enjoy hearing it with your family as much as we have with ours.  If you are lucky enough to be on the East Coast during her upcoming concert schedule, be sure to check out her live performance, too!  We all need a little more superheroes in our lives, don’t we?

Track Listing:

  1. Superhero
  2. Tallulah Jones
  3. Bicycle
  4. My My Marisol (featuring Ziggy Marley)
  5. This Is How I Do It
  6. I’ve Got So Much To Give
  7. Bubbles
  8. Tea Party
  9. When I Woke Up Today
  10. Umbrella
  11. Face To Face
  12. Opelika Alabama (featuring Brady Rymer)
  13. Juniper Square
  14. Pajama Time!
  15. Swing Me (featuring Kira Willey)
  16. Elephant In There
  17. Fireworks
  18. The Music In Me
  19. In And Out (Take A Trip)
  20. 1-2 Hands
  21. Yes!
  22. BONUS: Pool Safely
  23. BONUS: We Are The Dinosaurs (EDM Remix)

Laurie Berkner Performance Highlights – November – December 2016

  • November 12 – Troy Savings Bank Music Hall, Troy, NY
  • December 3 – The Concert Hall @ New York Society for Ethical Culture, New York, NY – Holiday Show!
  • December 11 – Bergen Performing Arts Center, Englewood, NJ – Holiday Show!
  • December 17 – Tarrytown Music Hall, Tarrytown, NY – Holiday Show!

Kids’ Music “Superhero” Laurie Berkner is BACK! First Album of All-New Berkner Songs in Eight Years!

List Price: $12.98 for CD.  $9.99 for digital download.


Leave a Reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.