Little Wing Learns to Fly (Hardcover)

Little

Little Wing Learns to Fly (Hardcover)

Children and adults alike will get carried away on Little Wing’s journey home!

As a parent, you want to see your kids hit their milestones and walking is a big one!  However, children usually go from walking to running in nanoseconds and you soon realize that maybe those non-walking days weren’t so bad after all!  You have to teach your child the rules in how to behave and where they go and you have to keep a watchful eye on them for years!  It gets so much easier the older they get, but it also gets different.  It goes from hoping they don’t sprint away from you in the store, to hoping they are safe riding the school bus, to eventually hoping they are not doing anything dangerous as teenagers into the twenties and beyond.  Little Wing is a perfect coming-of-age story of a small dragon who wants to learn how to fly and his mother who wants him to learn the rules about flying.

Little Wing is trying SO HARD to learn to fly, but he always finds himself, flip, flap, flopping to the ground.  UNTIL – one magical day, Little Wing starts fluttering higher and higher into the sky. That’s when Little Wing’s mom tells him he has to learn the THREE rules of flying.  Don’t fly so high, don’t fly so far, and don’t fly without MOM.  However, Little Wing’s newfound ability to fly has made him not hear a single word as he goes soaring into the sky and a gust of wind takes him into unknown territories.  He’s lost!  Little Wing wants his mom!  Luckily, mom is able to track Little Wing easily and again goes over the three rules of flying.  This time Little Wing promises to follow them, and dragons always keep their promises!  Little Wing and his mom are flip, flap, fearless flyers in the sky.  Fans of Finding Nemo and Giraffes Can’t Dance will love rooting for Little Wing as the little dragon that could.

About the Author:  Calista Brill is a writer and editor based in New York City. During the day she edits award-winning graphic novels and at night she writes stories for children about pixies, pirates, princesses, and pterodactyls. She has a nearly hairless cat named Percy and a fairly hairy husband named Perry, and she hardly ever gets them mixed up.

About the Illustrator: Jennifer A. Bell has illustrated more than twenty children’s books. She spends her days and most of her evenings drawing images that can be found on greeting cards, magazines, and books for kids of all ages. After several years of living in Minneapolis, she recently relocated to Toronto, where she lives with her husband, son, and cranky cat.

Little Wing Learns to Fly (Hardcover)

http://www.harpercollinschildrens.com

List Price: $ 17.99  (On sale through Amazon.com for $14.37)

Leave a Reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s