Great Pretenders Club by The Pop Ups (FREE Streaming Music from Amazon Prime)


Great Pretenders Club by The Pop Ups

“Nobody makes better modern pop for preschoolers than the Pop Ups.” – Stefan Shepherd,

Wow, the music industry has come a long way from the lawsuits that followed Napster. announced on September 30, 2015 that Amazon customers and Prime members in the U.S. and U.K have access to original children’s music with the debut of two new children’s albums; one of which is the Great Pretenders Club by The Pop Ups, a GRAMMY-nominated children’s musical duo.  Not only is this a BRAND NEW original album, they are available for exclusive, unlimited ad-free listening on Prime Music for Amazon Prime members at no additional cost to their membership.  Of course, you can also purchase the album as either download or physical CD format if you are not a Prime member.

What does this all mean?  Well, to me I think it means that Amazon realized that the music industry is more liquid than ever and making arrangements with artists to stream their music was one way to increase revenue through their membership services.  While people are already used to streaming music from companies for a small fee each month, Amazon Prime membership already gives users many perks such as Free Shipping on certain products, certain free items (like Kindle book lending) and discounts on other commonly used items.  I’ve been an Amazon Prime member for over six years, so having free streaming music is just an added bonus for my family and I can’t wait to see what other albums become available after these first two releases.  This is truly a unique look into the future of how much is heard and distributed and, as always, I’m enjoying the ride.

The news of free online streaming albums from Amazon was especially exciting news for me since I am also a children’s music reviewer.  My natural instinct, after playing the entire album for the kiddos, was to review this brand new album by The Pop Ups on my blog that so many other Amazon Prime members can listen to it for FREE.  So, just in case you haven’t got the notice as a Prime member, go to this link to check out The Pop Ups’ Great Pretenders Club!  Even cooler?  Amazon will also be releasing music videos to accompany each song on this album, also for free viewing, and the first one is for the song ‘Bird and Rhino’ available here  Did I just blow your mind or what?!?

OK – now for some more fun.  The Great Pretenders Club is The Pop Ups’ fourth full album with a collection of 11 original songs.  The Brooklyn team (Jason Rabinowitz and Jacob Stein) continue to create pop/dance/electro beat music for kids and this album is all about exploring and learning while pretending.  I love that concept!  If you didn’t know, The Pop Ups also have an educational web series through YouTube on their own channel here and have included some of the children’s voices and characters from their puppet family on the album.  So cute and hilarious!  This album is one that both parents and kids will love and two gems I want to note are the songs ‘Bird and Rhino’ and ‘Make a Rainbow’, which has a brilliant orchestra of sound.  To up the ante even more, Jason and Jacob brought in a GRAMMY nominated multi-instrumentalist, composer and lyricist Jarle Bernhoft as a guest artist on the song “Stuff”.  Don’t miss it.  Prime members, you have no excuse!  Welcome to the world of free new music streaming and start listening.

Track Listing

  1. Pretend We Forgot
  2. We Live in an Orchestra
  3. On Air
  4. Googly Eyes
  5. Indoor Picnic
  6. Bird & Rhino
  7. Stuff (feat. Bernhoft)
  8. Animal Birthday Party
  9. Treasure Hunter
  10. Make A Rainbow
  11. Great Pretenders Club (feat. HAERTS)

Great Pretenders Club by The Pop Ups


Leave a Reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.