Meet the Chapter Books July Summer Reading Campaign

Who said reading can’t be competitive? Penguin Reading House is challenging you to read a list of selected books. Print out the challenge and cross the titles off as you go. Show off how much you’ve read by taking a picture and tweeting @penguinrandom or Instagramming (@penguinrandomhouse) with the hashtag #challengeyourshelf.

Note these books are geared towards: 

  • Age Range: 6 – 8 years
  • Grade Level: 1 – 3
Talking cats and boys with antennae might seem pretty weird–but not if you’re from Planet Z!
 –
Zeke Zander and his family are aliens from Planet Z. So when their spaceship crashes on earth, they must pretend to be humans until they can fix their ship and return home. But with antennae on their heads and a talking cat named Zeus, fitting in is easier said than done! Still, Zeke manages to become friends with some Earth kids, and Zeus even stars in a cat food commercial. The money Zeus earns goes toward fixing the ship, but the Zanders soon realize that the repairs will take a really long time. As Zeke settles into his temporary home, he wonders if he can truly be the only kid from Planet Z trapped on Earth.
 –
About the Author:  Nancy Krulik is the author of more than two hundred books for children and young adults, including three New York Times Best Sellers. She is best known as the author and creator of the Katie Kazoo, Switcheroo; George Brown, Class Clown; How I Survived Middle School; and Magic Bone book series. Nancy lives in Manhattan with her husband, composer Daniel Burwasser. When she’s not writing, Nancy can be found reading, going to concerts, traveling, or running around Central Park with her crazy beagle mix, Josie. Follow her @NancyKrulik.
Fans of Amelia’s Notebooks and Judy Moody will love Book Two of this fun and artsy chapter book series.
 –
Bea Garcia, Artist, is looking for a new best friend, and she almost has one–Judith Einstein. So when Judith asks Bea to be her partner in the upcoming school geography contest, Bea is thrilled . . . at first. But Einstein is a star student who gets every question correct, and while Bea is a star artist, she worries she will make a mistake at the competition. Schoolwork comes so easily to Einstein that Bea thinks the secret might be Einstein’s special pencil. But when Bea takes Einstein’s pencil home, it’s not quite what she expected.
 –
About the Author: Deborah Zemke has written and illustrated many books for young readers, including the wildly successful Doodles place mat series. Her work has also appeared in several magazines. She is also the designer of the ITC Zemke Hand font. She lives in Missouri.
 –
Zing, zong, zing! Brain flash! Only Clint McCool knows exactly how to save the day! With two-color art, a large easy-to-read font, and the crazy adventures of an X-Treme Hero, Clint McCool is perfect for new independent readers.
 –
Clint McCool has a lot of ideas. Most of the time, these ideas get him into trouble with his teacher and Mom. Armed with his super-powered cap, his brain flashes, and his two best friends, Clint is ready to solve any problem and find adventure anywhere. When he stumbles onto a movie set and accidentally ruins one of the props, it’s up to him to save the movie. Clint must use some of his wild ideas to get on the big screen.
 –
About the Author:  Jane Kelley lives in Mequon, Wisconsin, with her husband and her lucky black cat. She is very proud to have been the 2013 Thurber House Children’s Writer in Residence. After raising her daughter in Brooklyn, Jane is happy to be back in her childhood home, at the edge of a magical woods. She studied theater at Northwestern University, and learned how to get inside a character and speak loudly. If you want to find out more about Jane, visit her website http://www.janekelleybooks.com
 –

http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com

List Price: $ 5.99 (Each)

Leave a Reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s