Raisin, the Littlest Cow (Hardcover)

Raisin, the Littlest Cow (Hardcover)

Raisin has a lot of favorite things, but change is NOT one of them. And when her mother has a new baby cow, everything changes for the worse.

I felt like I had been so concerned that my oldest daughter, who was three at the time, wouldn’t be happy about her little sister’s arrival, so I went out of my way to try to make it fun and exciting for her.  When she came to the hospital to meet Brie the first day she was born, she was so excited to hold her and talk about her.  I breathed a heavy sigh of momma relief.  Three years later, Brooke is still a wonderful big sister and while some days there can be arguments about toys (Brie is usually trying to play with Brooke’s stuff) and needing time alone or with mom or dad alone (again, Brooke wanting a little time away from Brie – HA!), they are the best of friends and if one is not there, the other girl will constantly ask when the other will be back.  I can see their relationship growing more and more as they get older and I’m excited for them.  But, there was a time when I was a little worried Brooke wouldn’t like being an only child anymore.  For those parents who are going through the same thing, or have an older reluctant sibling, Raisin the Littlest Cow, is a great book for your family!

An irresistible sibling story about Raisin, the littlest cow on the farm, and what happens when she gets a little brother—from the author and illustrator of Lion, Lion. Perfect for fans of Hug Machine and You Are (Not) Small.  Raisin loves being the littlest cow in the herd. All the other cows dote on her, and life is grand.

But one day, Raisin’s mother has a new little cow . . . one who is even smaller than Raisin. And suddenly everything changes. Raisin has never liked change, and this one is the worst. Now no one pays attention to her, the new baby smells funny, and even the weather won’t cooperate.  But then, when absolutely everything is going wrong, Raisin discovers a change in herself—one that delights the entire herd. Even (and especially!) the new baby.

About the Author:  Miriam Busch earned her MFA in writing for children and young adults from Hamline University. She loves pie and elephants and trees and whales and stories of all sorts. You can visit her at www.miriambuschauthor.com.

About the Illustrator:  Larry Day is the illustrator of over twenty picture books, a painter of fine art, and a storyboard artist/art director for advertising agencies. He is the recipient of many state awards for his books, as well as three gold medals from the Society of Illustrators. Larry also won the Golden Kite Award for best illustrated picture book (Not Afraid of Dogs). Find him online at www.larrydayillustration.com.

Miriam and Larry Day also collaborated on the picture book Lion, Lion, which was named an Illinois Reads selection, an NPR Best selection, an Indie Next Best selection, a Junior Library Guild selection, and a Bank Street College Best Book of the Year. They live in the Midwest.

Raisin, the Littlest Cow (Hardcover)

https://www.harpercollins.com/childrens

List Price: $ 17.99 (Also Available through Amazon Prime)

Leave a Reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s