Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears (Hardcover)

adrift

Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears (Hardcover)

Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be My Friend, this is a classic and quirky story of finding friendship where you least expect it, from the author/illustrator of The Blobfish Book and Shark Detective.

Karl and Hazel are polar bears who are total opposites.  Hazel is quiet and shy while Karl talks too much and smells a little like fish.  Despite being in the same species, they are not friends.

That is until . . . CRAAACCKKK! The two polar bear find themselves adrift out at sea on a tiny ice cap with no land in sight.  NO!!!!  What are they going to do?  They are drifting out to sea together and they only have each other as companions.   At first things are tough, Karl and Hazel refuse to speak together, but that proves very hard with no one else in sight.  Little by little, Karl and Hazel grow on each other and actually start to have fun!

One day, the two bears discover an upcoming large land of ice!  They are saved!  As they join their new home, they run off to find new adventures.  That is, until they realize they like each other.  Will their friendship survive being around a new group of bears?  This is a beautiful story about making friends with the unlikeliest people and being open-minded about people’s (oh, I mean BEAR’s) differences.  Love.

About the Author and Illustrator:  Jessica Olien is a writer, illustrator, and native midwesterner now living in Brooklyn. Her cartoons have been published in xoJane, Scooter, and the Hairpin. Her writing for grown-ups has been published in Slate, Salon, Pacific Standard, the Atlantic, Jezebel, Nerve, Marie Claire, and many others. She is also the author and illustrator of Shark Detective!

Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears (Hardcover)

https://www.harpercollins.com

List Price: $ 17.99 (Available through Amazon Prime)

Leave a Reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s